FROM THE GARDEN

Grew some really good things this year. Planted more plants then I should have and got more then I anticipated. You don’t see a lot of pineapple tomatillos or Chinese purple amaranth vegetables. I’m a huge fan of fire on my food so I had to get the Thai Chiles going. My mom grows almost the same thing every year and purple amaranth is always a top priority.

It was a few years back when I had worked at a private country club here in Michigan, Oakland Hills Country Club. They took us on a work field trip to The Chef’s Garden in Ohio. It was inspirational meeting Farmer Lee Jones because he is so committed to¬†sustainable agricultural practices. There they were growing these little pineapple tomatillos they had us all try. You peel back the husk on these tomatillos and you’ll get a burst of sweet fruity flavor. So now it’s nice to have some growing in my own garden.

Leave a Reply

